#6 Poetry : By The River Styx…

My silent tears fell on the

Black waters of the river

As I sat beside Styx and wept

And they were lost forever..

The souls drifted on

Their tormented faces never

To see the light of Cheerful

Life and Hope Ever..

Despair..Hatred.. Pity..Horror

Torment..and Eternal sadness..

Loneliness.. Sorrow..Gripped me

And I stared on Helpless..

Am I the legend of distress..

Sitting on a lonesome shore

Waiting for a hopeless hope

When you are there no more..

The memories they fall down

Into the cascading depths of Styx

Turning ashen and colour devoid

Burnt and pale like the Onyx..

Burned like charred embers

The Ripped pieces of my soul

As the lights in them were snuffed out

Never will I be again whole..

Styx seemed so unforgiving..

So full of eternal suffering..

Yet to me Styx felt gentle..

So carefree and welcoming..

I stripped down into nakedness..

Disrobing my guilt and sorrows..

My conscience raw and vulnerable

Into the cold unforgiving watery furrows..

The coldness..touched my spirit

Ah so gentle and soothing..

The fiery touches of black water-flames

Unhappy laments of souls crooning

The lullaby of Death’s Eternal Abyss

Made my soul beautifully sway..

Seemed so heartbreakingly beautiful

Memories of a happy lifetime seemed Faraway..

The waves of Hatred

Thawed the burning

Eased the pains inflicted

Ending all my suffering

The River Styx.. the river of hatred

My mortal wounds it Healed

And rekindled the burning spirit of life

The spirit to be avenged

From the grip of Mortality

The hatred made be fight

The shackles of pain broke

And in my Insight

A beautiful life was saved

From the Clutches of Grief and death

For it was not the time

To breathe my last breath.

 

 

 

-By Soumya Bunk

Mortality is an inevitable constant but that should not be a cause to hate one’s own life or end one’s own beautiful life, we need to be warriors of can fight grief and pain..one’s own conscience is the best weapon to win a battle against one’s own grief and battle of pains and misery.

Leave a Reply

